Irish Association of Social Workers

IASW - Who's Who

Definition of Social Work

The social work profession promotes social change, problem solving in human relationships and the empowerment and liberation of people to enhance well-being. Utilising theories of human behaviour and social systems, social work intervenes at the point where people interact with their environments. Principles of human rights and social justice are fundamental to social work (International Federation of Social Workers 2000)

Board of Directors

Chairperson
Vice Chair
Treasurer
Company Secretary – position filled by the Office Manager
7 Directors of the Board

{* Max 10 board members}

Committees of the Board

- 1. HR & Governance Committee
- 2. Finance & Audit Committee
- 3. CPD Committee
- 4. Journal Committee
- 5. International Affairs Committee
- 6. Membership Growth Committee
- 7. Elections & Nominations Committee *to be appointed 2024

Special Interest Groups at present

- 1. Adult Mental Health
- 2. Adult Safeguarding & Protection
- 3. Anti-Racism Advisory Group
- 4. Child, Adolescent Mental Health (CAMHS)
- 5. Children & Families
- 6. Disability
- 7. Foster Care
- 8. Head Medical Social Workers
- 9. Primary Care

Social Groups

1. Retired Social Workers Social Group

Advisory Groups

1. Mother Baby Home & Adoption

IASW - Who's Who

Our Links with Relevant Agencies & Professional Affiliations

- CORU, The Social Work Registration Board
- FORAS
- Tusla
- HSE
- International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW)
- Mental Health Reform
- Children's Rights Alliance
- The Wheel
- European Anti-Poverty Network (EAPN)
- Age Action
- Irish Network Against Racism (INAR) & Reporting Racism in Ireland
- Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL)
- Irish Foster Care Association (IFCA)
- Safeguarding Ireland
- National Practice Teaching in Social Work Initiative (NPTSWI)
- Irish Council for Social Workers in Adoption (ICSWA)

Other

- Office Manager
- Office Administrator
- Professional Development Coordinator

Who's Who?

Vivian Geiran*	Chairperson
Rachel McCormack	Director
Sinead McGarry	Director
Dr. Fiachra Ó'Súilleabháin	Director
Monica Hynds	Director
Oby Enekwechi-Ibebugwu	Director
Siobhan Nunn	Director
Claire McGettrick	Independent Director
Denise Kirwan	Independent Director
Una Burgess	Independent Director

^{*}Vivian Geiran is the Chair of the Board and is the Line Manager to the association's employees.