

An Taoiseach,
Mr Simon Harris, TD,
Government Buildings,
Merrion St Upper,
Dublin 2

5<sup>th</sup> November 2024

Dear Taoiseach,

As independent organisations and voluntary and community organisations concerned with mental health in Ireland, we are deeply disappointed that the Mental Health Bill 2024 will not progress much further before the dissolution of the current Dáil and Seanad in advance of the forthcoming general election.

We would urge consideration of the following urgent and important proposals to help bridge the gap to ensure the Bill's ultimate passage into law and commencement after the election. Furthermore, we urge the government to give immediate consideration to extend the regulatory powers of the Mental Health Commission with immediate effect. This is possible under the existing Mental Health Act.

In particular, we would urge the following considerations:

- A commitment by all government parties that if returned to power that the Mental Health Bill will be a foremost legislative and policy imperative. The Mental Health Bill 2024 must be reinstated at Dáil Committee Stage within the first 100 days.
- Section 34 of the Mental Health Act, 2001 should be invoked with immediate effect to
  enable the Minister to extend the regulatory powers of the Mental Health Commission
  (MHC) to cover non-inpatient statutory mental health services. This must be accompanied
  by the allocation of concomitant resources to recruit the essential MHC staff for this role. At
  present, most statutory mental health services based in the community, including CAMHS,
  are excluded from the remit of the Mental Health Commission. This should happen before
  the dissolution of the present Dáil and Seanad.

## Yours sincerely,

- 1. Philip Watt, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Mental Health Reform
- 2. Noel Smyth, Chairman, 3Ts
- 3. Ken Kilbride, Chief Executive Officer, ADHD Ireland
- 4. Dara Ryder, Chief Executive Officer, AHEAD
- 5. Dr Salome Mbugua, Chief Executive Officer, AkiDwA

- 6. Dr Sheila Gilheany, Chief Executive Officer, Alcohol Action Ireland
- 7. Seán Moynihan, Chief Executive Officer, ALONE
- 8. Andy Heffernan, Chief Executive Officer, Alzheimer Society of Ireland
- 9. Odhrán Allen, Chief Executive Officer, Association of Occupational Therapists of Ireland
- 10. Suzanne Connolly, Chief Executive Officer, Barnardos Ireland
- 11. Moninne Griffith, Chief Executive Officer, Belong To
- 12. Jacinta Hastings, Chief Executive Officer, Bodywhys
- 13. Michele Kerrigan, Chief Executive Officer, Care After Prison
- 14. Tanya Ward, Chief Executive Officer, Children's Rights Alliance
- 15. Sarah Jane Hennelly, Chief Executive Officer, Community Therapy Ireland
- 16. Hugh Morley, Head of Business, Cork Counselling Services
- 17. Brendan McCarthy, Chief Executive Officer, Cork Mental Health Foundation/Housing Association
- 18. Dr Tracey Monson, Chief Executive Officer, Daughters of Charity Child and Family Service
- 19. David Carroll, Chief Executive Officer, Depaul Ireland
- 20. Elaine Teague, Chief Executive Officer, Disability Federation of Ireland
- 21. John Lannon, Chief Executive Officer, Doras
- 22. Carol Moore, Chief Executive Officer, Dual Diagnosis Ireland
- 23. Catherine Kenny, Chief Executive Officer, Dublin Simon Community
- 24. Helen Ryan, Chairperson, European Association of Professional Hypnotherapists
- 25. John O'Brien, National Traveller Mental Health Service Manager, Exchange House
- 26. Ray Cullen, Chief Executive Officer, Futures in Mind
- 27. Annabel O'Keeffe, Chief Executive Officer, GROW Mental Health
- 28. Laura Condon, Executive Director, Helplink Mental Health
- 29. Fiona Tuomey, Chief Executive Officer, HUGG
- 30. Lisa Molloy, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy
- 31. Andrea Plunkett, Chair, Irish Association of Creative Arts Therapists
- 32. Caroline Strong, Chief Operations Officer, Irish Association of Social Workers
- 33. Rúaidhrí O'Connor, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Council for Psychotherapy
- 34. Saoirse Brady, Executive Director, Irish Penal Reform Trust
- 35. John Church, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children
- 36. Joseph Duffy, Chief Executive Officer, Jigsaw
- 37. Berni Smyth, Chief Executive Officer, Kerry Diocesan Youth Service
- 38. Eoin Galavan, Clinical Director, Kyrie Farm
- 39. Grace Kearney, Head of Health and Wellbeing, National Forum of Family Resource Centres
- 40. Doireann Croisson, National Women's Health Coordinator, National Women's Council of Ireland
- 41. Mikayla Morton, National Coordinator, Niteline
- 42. Patrick Reilly, Coordinator Mental Health Initiative, Pavee Point Traveller and Roma Centre
- 43. Colette Nolan, Chief Executive Officer, Peer Advocacy in Mental Health
- 44. Stephanie Manahan, Chief Executive Officer, Pieta
- 45. Dr Odhrán McCarthy, President, Psychological Society of Ireland
- 46. Sarah O' Toole, Executive Director, Samaritans
- 47. Nicola Byrne, Chief Executive Officer, Shine
- 48. Jess Angland, Chief Operations Officer, Slí Eile
- 49. Ian Power, Chief Executive Officer, spunout
- 50. Damien O' Dowd, Chief Executive Officer, St. John of God Hospital
- 51. Paul Gilligan, Chief Executive Officer, St. Patrick's Mental Health Services
- 52. Joan Wall, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Suicide or Survive
- 53. Adrienne Kilkenny, Chief Executive Officer, Threshold Training Network
- 54. Thomas McCann, Director, Traveller Counselling Service

- 55. Chris Clifford, President, Union of Students in Ireland
- 56. Peter O' Toole, Head of Counselling, Wellbeing & Emotional Support, Vision Ireland
- 57. Siobhán O'Dwyer, Chief Executive Officer, Youth Advocate Programmes Ireland